Harbor Day School is a tax-exempt, non-profit educational institution that is governed by a Board of Trustees. Trustees are nominated by the Committee on Trustees and elected by the full Board to serve two three-year staggered terms. The Committee on Trustees aims to nominate prospective Trustees with diverse professional and personal backgrounds and skills. Trustees are drawn from a variety of constituencies, including alumni, current and past parents, grandparents, and other friends of the school. Trustees voluntarily contribute their time and talent for the good of the school and bear ultimate responsibility for perpetuating the mission and well-being of the school.

The Board of Trustees has four principal areas of responsibility:

List of 4 items.

  • 1. Mission

    The Board is responsible for guarding and perpetuating the mission of the school for future generations.
  • 2. Finances

    The Board seeks to ensure the financial integrity and long-term financial health of the school by setting budgets and managing the endowment.
  • 3. Head of School

    The Board hires and cultivates the Head of School. The Board does not exercise authority over the selection, evaluation, or dismissal of faculty, staff, or students.
  • 4. Policy

    The Board formulates major policies concerning the future direction of the school. The Board’s focus is on the long-term health and stewardship of the school while the Head of School is charged with the day-to-day administration of the school.
Harbor Day School is governed by a Board of Trustees which manages the school’s finances and facilities, oversees policies, upholds the school’s mission and hires and cultivates the Head of School.

Board Committees

The Board delegates much of its business to standing committees which meet regularly and which make recommendations for ratification by the Board. The Board has the authority to create additional committees as needed. The committees for the 2018-2019 school year are:

  • Executive Committee
  • Audit Committee
  • Building and Grounds Committee
  • Committee on Trustees
  • Compensation and Faculty Support Committee
  • Development Committee
  • Endowment Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Financial Aid Committee
  • Strategic Planning Committee
The full Board of Trustees has ten regularly scheduled meetings per year and may meet more often at the discretion of the Executive Committee. In addition, committees of the Board of Trustees meet regularly to fulfill their responsibilities.


Angi Evans ’75
Head of School

2021-2022 Board of Trustees

Executive Committee

Chris Shepherdson ‘96, President
Paul Casey, Vice President
Karla Kraft, Secretary
Ben Francois, Treasurer
Jenny Gross, Member at Large
Laura Vanderhook, Member at Large
Gary McKitterick, Trustee Emeritus


Anne-Marie Angeloff
Santino Blumetti
Michael Cudzil
Ryan Decker
Kristi Fraley
Nithin Jilla
John Kirkowski
Brian Niccol
Eric Olsen ‘90
Evan Slavik
Kerri Sonenshine
Sheila Swaroop
Richard Taketa ‘86
Tina Wainwright
Liz Williams
Eugene Yim

Harbor Day School

3443 Pacific View Drive
Corona del Mar, CA 92625 Phone<title><script type="mce-text/javascript"> (function(a,e,c,f,g,h,b,d){var k={ak:"984895077",cl:"EfBCCP-Fv3UQ5ZzR1QM"};a[c]=a[c]||function(){(a[c].q=a[c].q||[]).push(arguments)};a[g]||(a[g]=k.ak);b=e.createElement(h);b.async=1;b.src="//www.gstatic.com/wcm/loader.js";d=e.getElementsByTagName(h)[0];d.parentNode.insertBefore(b,d);a[f]=function(b,d,e){a[c](2,b,k,d,null,new Date,e)};a[f]()})(window,document,"_googWcmImpl","_googWcmGet","_googWcmAk","script"); </script><head><body>1-949-640-1410<html></html></body></head><br><br><br>
Harbor Day School is a co-educational private independent K-8 school established in 1952.